Summer time and the eating’s easy…

Recently the hubster and I enjoyed a lovely date in downtown Savannah Georgia (thanks Mamaw!!) 

We really enjoyed meandering the streets of downtown. I’m a die hard Paula Deen fan, so eating at her original restaurant, The Lady and Sons, was top on my agenda! 

During our uninterrupted meal we got the chance to talk…to really talk. One of the things we discussed was how busy we’ve become and how much we grab take-out lately. We used to sit around the table every night without fail, but cue in softball practice, cheer practice, church, extra night classes and well, just life in general…and you’ve got a family in a rut. We decided we really wanted to change our dynamic this summer. I used to take a lot of joy in preparing a meal for my family, I’m not sure when it became a daunting chore for me, but it has and I want to change that. 

Ever since we came back home to East Tennessee I’ve had fried green tomatoes on the mind, I blame Paula.  Tonight’s menu I had planned BBQ chicken. A quick, easy and delicious option that miraculously the whole family is enthusiastic about. Perfect time to bust out some FGTs!! 

I’ve seen and used lots of recipes, and they’re all essentially the same but I’ve found that I like a little more flavor, so I’ve added a few ingredients. 

Here’s what you’ll need.  (Oil not pictured, oops)


Cornmeal 

All purpose flour

Salt

Pepper

Garlic powder

Season all, or season salt 

Buttermilk 

1 egg

Two green tomatoes cut into 1/4″ slices (you don’t want ’em thin) 

Oil 

So if you’re like me, you don’t just keep buttermilk on hand, I’ve had this problem in the past and after a little interwebbing I learned that you can squeeze fresh lemon juice into regular milk. It works in a pinch!

Before you get started put your oil on. Enough to cover the bottom of your pan completely, but not drown your Tomato. I didn’t break out my cast iron for this because it needs a good seasoning. I put my oil on medium and before I put my first tomato in I tested the oil with a little pinching of flour, if it sizzles nice without burning, then you’re good to go! If not then turn up the heat a smidge. But always test between adjustments because I learned the hard way that too big of a variation can turn out a black tomato and that’s just a travesty. 

   

So about 1 1/2 cups of buttermilk (or lemon created buttermilk) whisked together with one egg. 

 
1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour, 1 tsp of pepper, 1 tsp of salt, 1 tsp of garlic powder and a nice healthy shaking of season all. I just shake it on in there until it looks like I want it to. Whisk this up. 

I forgot to take a picture of this, but in a SEPERATE bowl mix 1 cup of cornmeal and 1/2 cup of flour together. 

Step 1. Coat in the seasoned flour mixture, get it all nice and covered. 


Step 2. dredge it in your milk mixture.   


Step 3. The cornmeal mixture! This is the good stuff… 

 
Ahhhh yeah….

Carefully place them in your oil and cook about 3 minutes on each side.

   


They should look nice and golden like this 

 
Now here’s the important part and one I learned the hard way, Do NOT cool them on a paper towel!!!! It’ll stick and pull off all your delicious crunchy fried goodness. Cool them on a cooling rack…sprinkle a little salt on the finished product and serve. If you’re lucky you’ll get a little extra lovin’ tonight because these babies are melt-in-your-mouth heaven.  


There were only a couple left after supper tonight….there’s my midnight snack!     

  

Leave a Reply

